admin1 – August 28, 2006 – 12:55pm
Macedonian Government

The Republic of Macedonia has a new Government whose prime minister is Nikola Gruevski. Gruevski's Government won support late Saturday evening with 68 votes "for", 22 votes "against", and no abstentions. The Government was elected following a two-day long debate and boycott of the BDI and PPD parliamentarians.

The Government is composed of 21 ministers from the parties of the VMRO-DPMNE-led coalition and Tito Petkovski's NSDP, Liljana Popovska's DOM, Fijat Canoski's PEI, and Arben Xhaferi's PDSH, which joined the VMRO-DPMNE coalition after the elections.

At the end of the two-day long debate Gruevski summed up the opposition's remarks, stating that he is aware of the great financial and political problems that await him. Gruevski explained that the Government is composed of educated people in whom he has complete trust and he warned that he would replace those who do not justify this trust. The prime minister explained that six of VMRO-DPMNE's proposals for ministers are non-party cadre.