admin1 – September 7, 2006 – 12:05pm

25 January 1991:

Macedonia’s Parliament, following the first multi-party elections, unanimously adopted a Declaration of Sovereignty.

8 September 1991:

An overwhelming majority of the Macedonian public approved a referendum on independence.

    - 1,495,807 were registered to vote for the referendum.

    - 1,074,855 (71.86%) actually cast their vote.

Out of registered voters, 1,021,981 (68.32%) voted for independence. Out of those who actually voted, 95.08% were for independence. Out of the registered voters, 38,986 (2.61%) voted against independence. 13,986 ballots were registered as invalid.

17 September 1991:

Macedonia’s Parliament passed a declaration affirming the results of the referendum. As a result of the declaration, Yugoslav federal laws have no further effect where they conflict with Macedonian law.

17 November 1991:

A new Constitution was adopted by the Parliament.

2 December 1991:

The Macedonian Parliament instructed the republic’s president Kiro Gligorov to send a letter to European heads of states and governments seeking recognition of Macedonia.

11 January 1992:

The European Community Arbitration Commission made the following recommendation:

“Macedonia satisfies the tests in the Guidelines on the Recognition of New States in Eastern Europe and in the Soviet Union and the declaration of Yugoslavia adopted by the Council of the European Communities on 16 December 1991.”

30 July 1992:

President Gligorov sent a letter to the United Nations Secretary General, Dr. Boutros Boutros-Ghali, in which the republic applied for UN membership. Another letter was sent stating that Macedonia accepts the obligation in the UN Chapter.

8 April 1993:   

Macedonia became a member state in UN.