admin1 – July 6, 2006 – 9:15am

DIK logoThe coalition led by VMRO-DPMNE won at yesterday's parliamentary elections in Macedonia. This opposition party was the first to announce that it defeated the "Together for Macedonia" Coalition. SDSM leader Vlado Buckovski conceded defeat and he congratulated VMRO-DPMNE leader Nikola Gruevski on the victory over the phone.

At 03:00 this morning the State Election Commission (DIK) announced the results of the processed data from 82 percent of the total number of polling stations. The "Together for Macedonia" Coalition has a lead of over 1,700 votes in the sixth constituency, while the coalition led by VMRO-DPMNE leads in the other five constituencies. The voter turnout was over 56 percent.

In the Albanian bloc of parties, BDI has a lead over PDSH in all constituencies.

It is not certain whether DIK will also release a simulation of the number of parliamentary seats won by the parties together with the release of the initial election results.

After processing 51 percent of the votes, VMRO-DPMNE calculated that it had won 55 parliamentary seats, while SDSM won 32.

DIK assessed these fifth parliamentary elections in Macedonia as fair and democratic, stating that they were completely regular and successful.

DIK is expected to announce the initial unofficial results at noon today.